Getting Ready for Hardrock

I finally feel like I’m really getting myself ready for Hardrock. Sure I’ve been doing a better job since November or so at getting in more runs than I had been. And sure I had a big month in April with three 50ks(Diez Vista, Alger Alp and Chirico Tenpeat) and two 25ks(on and near the Yakima Skyline 50k/25k Course) with a total elevation gain of about 40,000ft just in those five runs/races. And yeah I just ran 100 miles at Pigtails but now that the snow is melted from a lot of the south facing slopes of some pretty big mountains in Washington I finally feel like I’m getting ready for some serious mountain running in Colorado this July. And I feel like I’m ready to kiss the rock again in Silverton, for the first time since 2007!

At ~5000ft on the Wolf Creek Trail just 4000ft below the summit of Gardner Mountain.

At ~5000ft on the Wolf Creek Trail just 4000ft below the summit of Gardner Mountain.

Since finishing Pigtails 11 days ago, I’ve gone up 3031 foot Stewart Mtn (Bellingham), Mt Baker(stopped at the glacier at ~6000ft), Sourdough Mtn(In North Cascades National Park stopped just above snowline which was at 4100ft because I was wearing flip flops because I left all of my shoes at home), 7180 foot 3AM Mountain(Above Twisp River and Sun Mountain in the North Cascades) and today up to the 8000ft ridge west of 8900ft Gardner Mountain(the plan was to go to the top and there was very little snow to stop us but we ran out of time and had to turn back before the summit). In those five runs I got a total of 19,000ft of elevation gain in less than 60 miles which is mile for mile the same amount of elevation gain per mile as Hardrock. And with today and yesterday’s runs we spent quite a lot of time over 5000ft which is true alpine in this part of the world.

At 4300ft on Sourdough Mountain. 3500ft of elevation gain in 3.5 miles in Flip Flops!

At 4300ft on Sourdough Mountain. 3500ft of elevation gain in 3.5 miles in Flip Flops!

I’m tired now so I’ll take tomorrow easy and then the next day hit up a another 7000 footer (Goat Peak).  I’ll be busy all day Sunday directing the Winthrop Road Marathon but by Monday I hope to be right back at it with another big climb above Mazama perhaps. Then a run in Leavenworth on the way home(maybe 7000ft Icicle Ridge) and then try to squeeze in another big run or two(maybe Camp Muir Repeats between 9000ft and 10,000ft at Rainier and maybe a trip out to my old stomping grounds in the Olympics) before leaving town for Colorado on the 16th.

The view of the Sawtooth Range(home to Angels Staircase 60k/35k) from Canyon Creek Ridge on the way up 3AM Mountain.

The view of the Sawtooth Range(home to Angels Staircase 60k/35k) from Canyon Creek Ridge on the way up 3AM Mountain.

Once we’re in Colorado, Candice and I, hope to get into the San Juan Solstice 50m from the waiting list on the 22nd. After that I’ll begin to take it down a notch to make sure I’m not overly tired for Hardrock which starts July 12th. I’ll definitely still be getting in lots of runs in the Silverton area I’ll just make them shorter and shorter until two-three days before the race when I’ll pretty much just lay around eating too much.

Candice "loving" the scree fields below Gardner.

Candice “loving” the scree fields below Gardner.

One thought on “Getting Ready for Hardrock

  1. I did 4 miles on the road today:) That’s a crazy amount of elevation. I thought you had 3 jobs????? Don’t hurt yourself. Good luck. Can’t wait to read about the next 8 weeks.
    Matt

Leave a Reply

