Training Week #1 Dec 10-16 With Bonus Blurb about New Blog!

Well here I go again. Starting another blog. This one hopefully will be different. I plan to update it weekly with a review of my training for the week as a journal for myself and for running nerds like me that like to read about other runner’s tuesday workouts and weekend long runs and cumulative elevation gain since thursday oct 7th 1998. I will also be doing “retroactive” posts of fun and interesting events in my running past as well as essays on my favorite running related topics and the occasional IPA fueled rant or two might sneak past the editorial staff as well. So stay tuned…

monday: 9 miles. 1.5 hour ~1000ft of elevation gain. all single track. sehome hill

tuesday: 6 miles. 1 hour ~300ft. crushed gravel path mostly. Interurban with BTRC

wednesday: 7mi. 1hr. 450ft. single track/gravel path, road. old reliable loop from home V.1

thursday: 29mi 7hr 8100ft. almost all single track. scouting new route for Orcas Island 50k

friday: 15mi 3.5hr 4100ft. almost all single track. scouting new route for Orcas Island 25k

Saturday: day off

Sunday:  7mi. 1hr. 450ft. single track/gravel path, road. old reliable loop from home V.1

Totals: 73mi. 15.5hr 14,400ft

Excuses and Rationalizations:

Calling this Training Week #1 is a bit arbitrary. But since I haven’t been keeping close track of my daily runs for quite some time now seems like a good point to call the beginning of training since i’m now keeping a training journal. To give you an idea of what my running(not gonna call it training) has been like since April when I last could really say I was training with consistency and motivation I’ll tell you what i’ve been up to lately… Last week I directed the Deception Pass 50k/25k, on race weeks usually the only running I get in is doing course marking which is slow jogging at best but if you count running around like a chicken with it’s head cut off I get lots of that. So not much last week. But the two weeks before that I was working for Greentrails on a new trail map of Marin County, CA(yes the county that is home to some major ultras such as Miwok, Quad Dipsea, North Face 50m and numerous other fun races) so I ran a ton(again mostly slow jogging)–230 miles for the two weeks combined. And the week before those two monster weeks? zero. I was hurt. Could barely walk actually.  So i think that about sums up a normal four weeks for me for the past… oh three years to think of it(with some brief spurts of highly focused last minute cramming in of training for Hardrock thrown in for good measure of course). Speaking of Hardrock, I won the lottery yesterday! That means I’ll be toeing the line at my favorite race again in 2013(5th start hopefully 2nd finish). All you ever wanted to know about me and Hardrock can be found at my next blog post…

2 thoughts on “Training Week #1 Dec 10-16 With Bonus Blurb about New Blog!

Leave a Reply

